11 Bobby Jameson Hits

ISSUE #1, ISSUE #2, ISSUE #3, MIXTAPES

Bobby Jameson is beyond TEENAGE NEWS. He is the melodic prophet that never was. His songs should have drastically changed American pop culture and introduced millions to an other. Bobby’s blog serves as his detailed autobiography.

In short: When he was 18 years old he released three singles for Talamo Records.  The next year, 1964, he recorded with Mick Jagger, Andrew Loog Oldham, Kieth Richards and Jimmy Page in London. In 1965 he made his LP debut under the name “Chris Lucey.”  “Songs Of Protest And Anti-Protest” is a highly original folk-art album that was released before Love et al. Next Bobby Jameson realeased his two anti-war power statements. The single is the most compelling anti-war song released in America. He then released a single on the Current label before pairing up with his old pal Frank Zappa on two singles. In 1967 Bobby Jameson created magic. His second full length album, “Color Him In,” is the most pure and progressive psychedelic album ever. It is poetry in both lyric and melody.  “Working” was Bobby Jameson’s last LP (1969). It once again features Bobby’s introspective lyrics.  During this time and after so MUCH MORE happened for  Bobby Jameson.  He continued to record and remained politically and socially active for many more year. My bio does his life no justice, READ HIS STORY

Bobby Jameson is featured in Issue#1-2 of TEENAGE NEWS, and we have much more to write about his fascinating story.  This is a mixtape teaser for the full length feature being printed soon. Stay tuned.

Screen Shot 2015-01-01 at 5.20.29 PM

  • KNOW YOURSELF– 1967 “Color Him In”

    This is the crown jewel in Bobby Jameson’s catalog. It is pyschdellic perfection with a meticulous melody.

JAMIE– 1967 “Color Him In”


Written for Jameson’s brother.

Picture 1-1

PALO ALTO– 1969 “Working”

Well I’m back/
On the road/
Movin’ West/
Gotta get back home/
I got a letter from my brother/
Sayin’ my mother, well/
She ain’t doing too well.
And he wrote, that she said:
She hopes to see me one more time/
because it didn’t look like she’s gettin’ well/
or had much time.

I keep repeating the only prayer I know/
Get me there on time/
It’s a long way to Palo Alto.

And I’m thinking/
All the way/
About the reasons I had for leavin’/
That she just never really understood/
The way I was feeling inside.
And I’m wondering, while I’m walking/
Did we ever really know each other/
Or did we miss it somehow while we had the time.

I keep repeating the only prayer I know/
Get me there on time/
It’s a long way to Palo Alto.

Now, it’s strange/
How I feel/
In my heart I try to reason/
The tears sweep my face/
My eyes are crying.
And I’m worried, way down deep/
That’ll I’ll never get the chance to know her/
And I’m wonderin’, is she worried/
She may never get the chance to know me.

I keep repeating the only prayer I know/
Get me there on time/
It’s a long way to Palo Alto.

VIETNAM– 1965

Picture 3

I’LL REMEMBER THEM– 1965 “Songs Of Protest And Anti-Protest”


These heavy lyrics were free-styled on the spot.

STEEL AND CONCRETE– 1967 demo

 

IN A WORLD SUCH AS THIS– 1967 demo

Screen Shot 2015-01-01 at 5.20.50 PM

WINDOWS AND DOORS– 1967 “Color Him In”


“Soon you’ll find your minds got windows and your own soul has a door.”

TOO MANY MORNINGS– 1965 “Songs of Protest and Anti-Protest”


This is possibly the most haunting song on Bobby Jameson’s debut. 

Picture 1

DON’T COME LOOKING– 1965 “Songs of Protest and Anti-Protest” 


Intense lyrics with an easy breezy melody. “Somewhere high above is heaven.” “Some where down below is laughter that always seems to die.”

THE NEW AGE– 1967 “Color Him In”


A salute to the future. 


TO BE CONTINUED

If you enjoy what you read, support the in print version of TEENAGE NEWS available here: https://www.etsy.com/listing/201876845/teenage-news-2-music-zine-features-john?

Post by August BernadicouTEENAGE NEWS 2

Leave a Reply

